PM, cabinet members pay homage to Bangabandhu at Dhanmondi

Kalerkantho Online   

8 January, 2019 10:24 AM

PM, cabinet members pay homage to Bangabandhu at Dhanmondi

File photo

A- A A+

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and her new cabinet members paid homage to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman today as she formed her government for the third consecutive term yesterday.

Sheikh Hasina paid tributes to Bangabandhu by placing a wreath at his portrait in front of Bangabandhu Bhaban at Dhanmondi this morning.

The prime minister and her new cabinet members will also go to National Memorial at Savar and pay tributes to the Liberation War martyrs.

She is also set to visit Tungipara of Gopalganj on Wednesday to pay homage to Bangabandhu there on the occasion of installation of her government for the third consecutive term.

She took oath as the Prime Minister for historic fourth time as well as consecutive third term and formed a new cabinet yesterday.

The new council of ministers — including 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers — took oath on the day at a state ceremony at Bangabhaban Darbar Hall.

After the oath-taking ceremony, the Cabinet Division, however, yesterday published a gazette distributing portfolios among the new cabinet members.

The 24 ministers are-- AKM Mozammel Huq (Liberation War Affairs), Obaidul Quader (Road Transport and Bridges), Md Abdur Razzaque (Agriculture), Asaduzzaman Khan (Home Affair),Mohammad Hasan Mahmud (Information), Anisul Huq (Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs), AHM Mustafa Kamal (Finance), Md Tajul Islam (Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives), Dr Dipu Moni (Education), AK Abdul Momen (Foreign Affairs), MA Mannan (Planning), Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun (Industries), Golam Dastagir Gazi (Textiles and Jute), Zahid Maleque (Health and Family Welfare), Sadhan Chandra Majumder (Food), Tipu Munshi (Commerce), Nuruzzaman Ahmed (Social Welfare), SM Rezaul Karim (Housing and Public Works), Md Shahab Uddin (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), BirBahadur Ushwe Sing (Chattogram Hill Tracts Affairs), Saifuzzaman Chowdhury (Land), MdNurul Islam Sujan (Railways), Yeafesh Osman (Science and Technology) and Mustafa Jabbar (Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology).

The 19 state ministers are--Kamal Ahmed Majumder (Industry), Imran Ahmad (Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment), Md Zahid Ahsan Russel (Youth and Sports), Nasrul Hamid (Power, Energy and Mineral Resources), Md Ashraf Ali Khan Kashru (Fisheries and Livestock), Begum Monnuzan Sufian (Labour and Employment), Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury (Shipping), Md Zakir Hossain (Primary and Mass Education), Md Shahriar Alam (Foreign Affairs), Zunaid Ahmed Palak (Information and Communication Technology Division), Farhad Hossain (Public Administration), Shawpan Bhattacharjee (LGRD and Cooperatives), Jahid Faruk (Water Resources), Md Murad Hasan (Health and Family Welfare), Sharif Ahmed (Social Welfare), KM Khalid (Cultural Affairs), Md Enamur Rahaman (Disaster Management and Relief), Md Mahbub Ali (Civil Aviation and Tourism) and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah (Religious Affairs).

The three deputy ministers are--Begum Habibun Nahar (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), AKM Enamul Haque Shamim (Water Resources) and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury (Education).