Bangladesh Tour of South Africa, 2017 - 1st Test

Rain forces early stumps with SA in command

Kalerkantho Online   

1 October, 2017 15:25 PM

Rain forces early stumps with SA in command

A- A A+

The rain at Senwes Park forced early stumps with South Africa in command while Bangladesh were three down in pursuit of 424 on the Day 4 of the first Test.

Bangladesh lost opener Tamim, Mominul Haque early in the 424-run chase while Imrul Kayes also frustrated Tigers scoring only 32 runs off 42 balls.

Bangladesh required another 375 runs to win the first Test against South Africa with 7 wickets remaining as the visitors scored 49 runs losing three valuable wickets after 15. 3 overs at the end of the day 4 play.

In their innings, South Africa scored 247 runs losing six wickets and set Bangladesh the target of 424 and with bat Bangladesh were in early trouble to hunt a huge total of 424 in Potchefstroom.

Bangladesh’s bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman has delivered an early breakthrough on Day 4 of the first test against South Africa at Senwes Park on Sunday.

Du Plessis and Bavuma extended South Africa lead past 350 and both registered brisk fifties and were involved in a century stand before going to lunch break scoring 203 runs after 45 overs in their second innings losing three wickets.

Earlier the South Africa’s Aiden Markram and Dean Elgar have both been dismissed in the day 3 play for the Proteas after Bangladesh were bowled out for 320 on Saturday.

The Proteas clearly have the upper hand at the end of the day 3 of the first Test against Bangladesh as they made quick work of the Bangladesh tail but lost their two openers without too much on the board.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim decided to bowl first against South Africa in the first Test.


Bangladesh Team
1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), 6 Liton Das (wk), 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mehidy Hasan, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Shafiul Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman.


South Africa Team
1 Dean Elgar, 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Hashim Amla, 4 Temba Bavuma, 5 Faf du Plessis (capt), 6 Quinton de Kock (wk), 7 Andile Phehlukwayo, 8 Keshav Maharaj, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Morne Morkel, 11 Duanne Olivier.