2nd T20I: Tigers play West Indies Sunday morning


4 August, 2018 20:44 PM

2nd T20I: Tigers play West Indies Sunday morning

A- A A+

Bangladesh National Cricket team will play the 2nd match of the three-match T20I series against world champions West Indies at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground in Lauderhill, Florida on Sunday morning.

The match will kick off at 6am Bangladesh time.  This is for the first time that the Tigers are playing in the USA.

The Tigers, which went down in the three-match series 0-1 after conceding a seven-wicket defeat against the Caribbean in the rain-interrupted match at Warner Park, Basseterre in St Kitts on Wednesday, will play their 3rd and last T20 match on Monday at the same time and same venue in Lauderhill, Florida.

Bangladesh have now lost five or more T20Is in a row for the sixth time.

Bangladesh’s most reliable batsman Tamim Iqbal is 65 runs away from aggregating 1,000 runs across international formats this year.

T20 World champions West Indies will go for the series win with their second successive victory with their big hitters and aggressive bowlers firing in tandem.

Shakib Al Hasan-led Bangladesh are very much hopeful about levelling the series on Sunday riding on the shoulders of four senior batsmen—Tamim, Shakib, Mushfiq and Mahmudullah--but there's a lot more that the likes of Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar and Ariful Haque can bring to the table although expectations from newcomers have never been higher in the Bangladesh line-up.

The bowling load will be shared between Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman, who both are usually required to bowl at critical phases in T20s, with Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Shakib Al Hasan providing support.

One factor that could come to Bangladesh's favour is the crowd in Lauderhill; the local population has a strong sub-continental presence.

Bangladesh are likely to field an unchanged squad in the 2nd T20 giving Soumya Sarkar another chance.

Bangladesh (probable): Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mahmudullah, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam and Rubel Hossain. 

West Indies (probable):  Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Keemo Paul, Ashley Nurse, Samuel Badree and Kesrick Williams.