Asia Cup: Tigers meet Pakistan to set up date with India

Kalerkantho Online   

26 September, 2018 09:46 AM

Asia Cup:  Tigers meet Pakistan to set up date with India

Mahmudullah is happy being the crisis man, but hopes the other Bangladesh batsmen raise their games too at the #AsiaCup2018/ICC

A- A A+

Bangladesh v Pakistan

Asia Cup 2018, Super Four, Match 6
Shaikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Wednesday, 26 September, 3.30 PM local time, 11.30 AM GMT

It’s now today Bangladesh’s aim to repeat their 2015 sweet historic memory but Asia Cup campaigns of Pakistan and Bangladesh can best be described as severely inconsistent, with both winning and losing games by equally-massive margins, and are both still alive thanks to their final-over wins over Afghanistan.

The tigers will take on Pakistan in the crucial sixth super four match of the ACC Asia Cup scheduled to be held today (Wednesday) at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The match is scheduled to kick off at 5.30 pm (Bangladesh Time).

Today’s match will be the must-win game for both Bangladesh and Pakistan in a bid to secure the semi-final with an aim to set a title clash against India on September 28.

It will be high voltage match because Bangladesh can take inspiration of their sweet memory of whitewashing Pakistan in their home soil backed in 2015.

In this season, Bangladesh and Pakistan have had very similar results in the Super Fours.

Both Bangladesh and Pakistan have lost comprehensively to India while beating Afghanistan in last-over finishes.

Key players

Mahmudullah (Bangladesh): The all-rounder looked to have regained form with the bat and ball – he returned 1/17 from five overs after scoring the half-century – against Afghanistan and with the top order not scoring many runs, the responsibility of balancing out for them and finishing the innings will rest on his shoulders.

Shoaib Malik (Pakistan): The only Pakistan batsman who has been untroubled by any bowling attack, Malik, Malik will be the key to his team's success and will look to build on his good form with the bat as well as his ability to absorb pressure and bail the team out of precarious positions.

Bangladesh (From):
Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Abu Hider Rony, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mosaddek Hossain, Ariful Haque.

Pakistan (From): Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed(w/c), Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Sohail, Faheem Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan, Shan Masood