Liton Das hits maiden ODI ton

Kalerkantho Online   

28 September, 2018 20:14 PM

 Liton Das hits maiden ODI ton

Liton Das celebrates his maiden ODI hundred, Bangladesh v India, Asia Cup final. Getty Images

A- A A+

Bangladesh opener Liton Das has scored his maiden century against India in the final of the 2018 Asia Cup at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in UAE.

Liton opened the Tiger's innings on a confident start. The opener went on to score his maiden ton off 87 balls. He made 121 runs off 117 balls. His innings consisted of 12 fours and 2 sixes.

Earlier, India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and invited Bangladesh to bat first.

Nazmul Islam Apu replaces Mominul Haque. On the other hand, The five players who were rested for the previous game are back in the Indian eleven. 

Bangladesh's life in the Asia Cup 2018 has been about pain, and about largely finding routes for overcoming most of it.

On the opening day, Tamim Iqbal was lost to a wrist fracture, and by the time they made it to the final Super Four game with still something to play for, Shakib Al Hasan couldn't play on any further due to his fractured finger.

However, an injury-hit Bangladesh stunned Pakistan as they beat them by 37 runs in the virtual semi-final clash despite the absence of their key players for injury.

The Bangladesh bowling attack is one of the most potent in 50 over cricket with Mustafizur Rahaman, Rubel Hossain, and Mashrafe Mortaza ready to lead from the front to test the Indian strong batting line up.

The cutter master Mustafizur has a lot of tricks up his sleeve while Mashrafe’s experience has also strengthened the teams’ bowling line-up.

In batting, the team will bank heavily on the ever-dependable Mushfiqur Rahim, who has been the ‘crisis man’ along with the very stylish Mahmudullah Riyad.

Playing XI

Bangladesh: Liton Das(w), Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.