David Peever resigns as Cricket Australia chairman


1 November, 2018 15:43 PM

David Peever resigns as Cricket Australia chairman

David Peever resigned from his post as the Cricket Australia chairman a week after being re-elected for another three-year term. Photo: Getty Images

A- A A+

David Peever has resigned from his post as the Cricket Australia chairman a week after being re-elected for another three-year term. Peever's resignation comes in the wake of severe backlash following the Longstaff review, the results of which were made public earlier this week.

Earl Hiddings, who was appointed deputy chairman, will take over from Peever on an interim basis.

Peever was unanimously re-elected by the states as chairman at CA's annual general meeting last Friday. However, that re-election came three days ahead of the release of the Ethics Centre's review, with CA's move to delay the release of the review receiving widespread ire. Subsequently, it was reported that three of the six states - NSW, Western Australia and Victoria - had withdrawn their support of the chairman, who had insisted that he would see out his tenure on Monday.

"I accept responsibility for what happened in South Africa but I am also very confident we are well positioned to move forward from here," Peever said following the release of the cultural review. In an interview with ABC, he had also reaffirmed his desire to continue his tenure, describing the ball-tampering saga as a "hiccup. " With support dwindling around him and amidst the growing clamour for his resignation, he finally decided to step aside in a special meeting of the board.

In their joint review of the cricketing culture in Australia following the Newlands ball tampering scandal, Dr. Simon Longstaff of the Ethics centre and former Test batsman Rick McCosker held the board's leadership complicit in fostering an "arrogant" environment.

Peever's departure now completes a wholesale list of changes to the leadership group in Australia cricket. The men's teams are currently led by Tim Paine (Tests) and Aaron Finch (T20Is & ODIs) taking over from Steve Smith while former opener Justin Langer has replaced Darren Lehmann as the head coach. At the AGM, Kevin Roberts officially took over from James Sutherland as the board's chief executive with the latter moving on after 17 years in charge.

Peever, who joined the CA board in 2012, replaced Wally Edwards as chairman in 2015. He oversaw a tumultuous period for CA in the last year including the pay dispute with the Australian Cricketers Association.

"We thank David for his service," Eddings said. "He has played a pivotal role in the elevation of women's cricket, and the significant growth in attendance and participation. He should also be acknowledged for his efforts in improving funding to the ICC full member nations outside Australia, England and India; overhauling governance of the ICC and reforming the Future Tours program, among a long list of achievements.

"We look forward to continuing the important process of recovering and rebuilding for Cricket Australia and Australian Cricket. The Board is keenly aware that we have a way to go to earn back the trust of the cricket community. We and the executive team are determined to make cricket stronger. "