BPL 1st match: Rangpur Riders 98-all out

Kalerkantho Online   

5 January, 2019 12:11 PM

BPL 1st match: Rangpur Riders 98-all out

A- A A+

The defending champions Rangpur Riders is now taking on Chittagong Vikings in the opening game as the Chittagong Vikings won the toss and they opted to bowl first in the match of the UCB Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 tournament.

The sixth edition of UCB Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 Powered by TVS kicked off at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka today with this match.

Last year’s runner-up Dhaka Dynamites face Rajshahi Kings in the day’s other opening game at 5.20pm at the same venue.

Ex-South African batsman AB de Villiers and England batsman Alex Hales were signed by Rangpur Riders in this year’s tournament.

In the sixth edition of UCB Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) tournament, Dhaka Dynamites, Rajshahi Kings, Khulna Titans, Rangpur Riders, Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings and Sylhet Sixers are the seven participant teams.

As it was played the previous year, matches will be played on three venues across the country.

The three venues are- Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (SICS), Sylhet, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) of Chattogram, and Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS), Dhaka.

Private satellite channel Gazi TV (GTV) and Maasranga Television are the two official broadcast partners from Bangladesh for this year’s tournament.


Chittagong Vikings (Playing XI): Mohammad Shahzad, Cameron Delport, Mohammad Ashraful, Mushfiqur Rahim(w/c), Mosaddek Hossain, Sikandar Raza, Robbie Frylinck, Nayeem Hasan, Sunzamul Islam, Abu Jayed, Khaled Ahmed.

Rangpur Riders (Playing XI): Alex Hales, Mohammad Mithun(w), Rilee Rossouw, Mehedi Maruf, Ravi Bopara, Benny Howell, Farhad Reza, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Sohag Gazi, Nazmul Islam, Shafiul Islam.