Root and Gabriel had an altercation during England's second innings/Getty
West Indies fast-bowler Shannon Gabriel has been charged by the ICC in relation to an incident on day three of the third Test in St Lucia.
After an exchange with Gabriel while he was batting, England captain Joe Root was overheard on the stump microphone saying: "Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay."
The video clip has been doing the rounds on social media since although what had drawn that response from Root was not picked up by the stump microphone.
It had initially appeared that the umpires had dealt with the issue at the time - West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite swiftly moved Gabriel away from Root after the exchange - and match referee Jeff Crowe was thought to be satisfied that it had been dealt with.
However, the umpires have subsequently laid a charge against Gabriel under Article 2.13 of the ICC's Code of Conduct.
The notes to the article states that it "is intended to cover a Player or Player Support Personnel directing language of a personal, insulting, obscene and/or offensive nature at any Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire or Match Referee during an International Match."
Crowe will now proceed with the charge although it may be difficult to prove what, if anything, Gabriel said to Root if there is no audio evidence available. The ICC said they would make no further comment until proceedings have concluded.
"It's Test cricket, he's an emotional guy trying to do everything he can to win a Test match," Root said after play on day three. "Sometimes people say things on the field they might regret, but they should stay on the field. He's a good guy who plays hard cricket and is proud to be in the position he is. The battle was a good contest, he's had a wonderful series and he should be proud."
West Indies interim coach Richard Pybus responded: "Nothing has been reported to me but if a comment was made we'll review it and if it was untoward we'll be addressing it."