Azam Khan to receive posthumous Ekushey Padak 2019

Kalerkantho Online   

6 February, 2019 17:49 PM

Azam Khan to receive posthumous Ekushey Padak 2019


A- A A+

Noted Bangladeshi rock singer Mahbubul Haque Khan, known as Azam Khan, has been named as one of the winners of this year's Ekushey Padak posthumously.

Mahbubul Haque Khan, known as Azam Khan, was a Bangladeshi rock singer, songwriter and a freedom fighter. He took part in the Liberation War in 1971.

Mahbubul Haque Khan is often referred by the name "Rock Guru". He is considered to be the greatest musician in the country.

The Rock Guru was died on June 5 in 2011 at the age of 61.

21 selected for Ekushey Padak 2019

The government announced names of 21 eminent citizens for awarding the prestigious Ekushey Padak for their contribution in respective fields.

Ekushey Padak 2019 recipients are: Professor Halima Khatun (posthumous, language movement) and Advocate Golam Arif Tipu (language movement), Prof Monowara Islam (language movement), Subir Nandi (music), Azam Khan (posthumous, music), Khairul Anam Shakil (music), Lucky Inam (drama), Subarna Mustafa (drama) and Liaquat Ali Lucky (drama), Sayeeda Khanam (photography), Jamal Uddin Ahmed (fine arts), Khitindra Chandra Boishya (liberation war), Dr Biswajit Ghosh (research), Dr Mahbubul Haque (research), Rizia Rahman (language and literature), Imdadul Haq Milan (language and literature), Ashim Saha (language and literature), Dr Anwara Syeda Haq (language and literature), Mainul Ahsan Saber (language and literature) and Harishankar Jaladas (language and literature).

An official release from the cultural ministry disclosed the names of the recipients on Wednesday (today).

Each recipient will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of Taka 2 lakh, according to the media release.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is set to hand over the Ekushey Padak to the awardees on February 20 at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in the capital.

The Ekushey Padak is the second highest civilian awards in Bangladesh.