SL vs Zim, 2nd Match : Live Cricket Update

Kalerkantho Online   

17 January, 2018 12:36 PM

SL vs Zim, 2nd Match : Live Cricket Update

(2nd match: Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe)

A- A A+

The tri-nation ODI series between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe being held at Mirpur stadium on Wednesday. Stay updated with Kalerkantho English to catch live updates of the encounter: 


Live Commentary


7.57pm (Local Time): Zimbabwe win by 12 runs. What a win !

7.49pm (Local Time): Perera gone 64(37b), big big wicket, Sri Lanka (275/9) in deep trouble now. 

7.42pm (Local Time): Chatara to Dananjaya, OUT, Sri Lanka 261/8. SL need more 30 runs with 30 balls and 2 wickets remaining.

7.28pm (Local Time): After 44 overs, Sri Lanka scored 247 for 7, need more 44 runs with 42 balls and 3 wickets remaining.  

6.59pm (Local Time): Gunaratne 4 (9b) gone, Cremer takes the wicket. Sri Lanka is in deep trouble now, 194/6, They require another 97 runs with 4 wickets and 14.2 overs remaining.

6.33pm (Local Time): Chandimal 34 (33b) is bowled by Jarvis. Sri Lanka 182/5 in 33.2 overs. SL under real pressure now, 110 runs needed in 16.4 overs. 

6.33pm (Local Time): Mathews 42(64b) gone. Sri Lanka 157/4 in 31 overs. 

6.23pm (Local Time): FOUR by Chandimal, Brings up the 150 for Sri Lanka


Kusal Perera in action vs Zimbabwe - AP


4.13pm (Local Time): Welcome back. Sri Lankan innings is about to start. Kusal Perera and Upul Tharanga will open the innings. 


Innings Break  

3:45pm (Local Time): Gunaratne to Sikandar Raza, 1 run in the last ball of the innings.  Zimbabwe finishes with 290/6, an excellent total.

3:34pm (Local Time):  FOUR by Raza again, another full toss, slips out of the hand and Raza slashes it out to third man. Very poor bowling. Zimbabwe 279/5 in 48.5overs.

3:33pm (Local Time): Lakmal to Sikandar Raza, FOUR, full toss, backs away and makes room and crunches a drive to the right of sweeper cover. Zimbabwe 275/5 in 48.4overs.

3:19pm (Local Time): Fifty for Raza, Zimbabwe 238/5 in 45.1 overs.

3:13pm (Local Time): Waller 29 (35b) OUT, oh ! brilliant catch by Tharanga. Zimbabwe 226/5 in 43.1 overs.

2:50pm (Local Time): Gunaratne to Sikandar Raza, 1 run, short and spinning in, backs away and cuts through point. Brings up the 200 for Zimbabwe in 38.5 overs.

2:29pm (Local Time): Taylor 38(51b) OUT, Crucial strike for Sri Lanka in their bid to peg Zimbabwe back. Zimbabwe 169/4 in 33 overs.

2:27pm (Local Time): Perera to Sikandar Raza, SIX, shot! Beautiful timing.  He just strides forward, meets the pitch, and presents the full face to chip it over long-off.  Zimbabwe 168/3 in 32.4 overs.

2:04pm (Local Time):  Masakadza 73 (83b) OUT, Big fish departs, Zimbabwe 142/3 in 27.3 overs.

1:54pm (Local Time): FOUR, lovely batting from Masakadza. Zimbabwe 132/2 in 25.3 overs.

1:48pm (Local Time): Chameera to Masakadza, FOUR, Masakadza drags the pull from well outside off but bisects square leg and fine leg. Zimbabwe 123/2 in 24.3 overs.

Hamilton Masakadza acknowledges his half-century - AP


1:25pm (Local Time): Lakmal to Masakadza, 1 run, that single brings up the fifty for Masakadza, He would want it to convert it into a ton. Zimbabwe 91/2 in 18.3 overs.

1:14pm (Local Time): THAT'S OUT!! Caught by Mathews , Ervine 2 (9) gone, 1st wicket for Lakmal, Zimbabwe lost the second, Zimbabwe 85/2 in 16.3 overs.

12:58pm (Local Time): Mire 34 (37b) gone, first wicket for Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe 75/1, Overs :13

12:38pm (Local Time): Zimbabwe 56/0, Overs : 9

12:00pm (Local Time): The match starts

11:30am (Local Time): Sri Lanka have won the toss and have decided to bowl first against Zimbabwe

Hamilton Masakadza brings out the reverse sweep - AFP


Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe will play each other twice in the two-week tournament, ending with a final on January 27 when Bangladesh become a strong one-day team in recent times.

Here are the XIs:

Zimbabwe : Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Brendan Taylor (wk), Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Graeme Cremer (c), Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani

Sri Lanka : Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Angelo Mathews (c), Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Wanidu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera.


7.49pm (Local Time):