5 BNP-JCD men jailed for attacking MP’s resident


17 October, 2018 11:37 AM

5 BNP-JCD men jailed for attacking MP’s resident

A- A A+

A trial court here today convicted five BNP- JCD people and sentenced them to suffer ten years behind the bar on charge of their involvement in attacking, ransacking and bomb blasting at the residence of Golam Rabbani, MP, at Shibganj Upazila of Chapainawabganj district around
five years back.

The court also fined them Taka 10,000 each, in default, to suffer one year more in jail.

Divisional Speedy Trial Tribunal Judge Anup Kumar found them guilty of the charge and pronounced the verdict in a jam-packed courtroom in presence of all of them.

The convicted persons were identified as local BNP leaders Setaur Rahman, Shafiqul Islam and Rabiul Islam and JCD leaders Mirnal Hossain and Easir Arafat.

Fourteen others accused in the case were acquitted as the charge brought against them could not be proved.

The prosecution story, in brief, is that the accused in cooperation with each other attacked on the residence of Golam Rabbani and badly damaged it through ransacking and bomb blasting on December 2, 2013 ahead of the January 5, 2014 parliamentary election.

Local police lodged a case with Shibgonj Police Station on the same day and upon completion of the investigation they pressed charges accusing 19 persons.

Examining the recorded depositions of prosecution witnesses and other relevant evidences the tribunal handed down the verdict here this afternoon.

Special Public Prosecutor Entajul Haque Babu conducted the case on behalf the state while Advocate Enamul Haque defended the accused.