7 ‘militants’ held in Chandpur

Kalerkantho Online   

21 October, 2018 14:56 PM

7 ‘militants’ held in Chandpur

Photo: Kalerkantho

A- A A+

Police in a drive arrested seven alleged members of banned militant outfit Ansarullah Bangla Team (ABT), from Faridganj upazila of Chandpur district early Sunday.

The arrestees are-- Kausar Hamid, Mahmudur Rahman, Rashedul Islam, Abul Fayez, Neyamot Ullah, Habibur Rahman and Fazlul Karim.


Confirming the news, Faridganj Police Station Officer-in-Charge  Harun Ur-Rashid said: "Being tipped-off about the presence of some militants in Kerua village in the area, police conducted a drive and captured them from a house. "
In a press briefing, Chandpur Police Super Zihadul Kabir said: "We found involvement of the seven arrestees with banned militant outfit Ansarullah Bangla Team (ABT) in our primary investigation. They took shelter in the area as a safe zone to take training on militancy. "

"A case was filed against them under the Anti-Terrorism Act and we sought a 10-day remand for each of them for further investigation," he added.