AL set to form govt for 3rd consecutive terms

Kalerkantho Online   

30 December, 2018 23:55 PM

AL set to form govt for 3rd consecutive terms

A- A A+

The Awami League, the present ruling party, is set to form the government for the third consecutive terms.

Out of 298 seats, the party has gained 259 while Jatiya Party bagged 20 seats and Jatiya Oikyafront only seven.

AL president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has been elected unofficially from Gopalganj-3 constituency as she polled 2,29, 539 votes against her rival BNP candidate SM Zilani who got 123 votes, said Election Commission secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir won in his northeastern Bogura constituency with a huge margin.

Voting of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad Election ended peacefully at 4pm as people cast their vote amid sporadic incidents of violence and allegation of vote rigging.