Sheikh Hasina takes oath as PM for historic fourth term


7 January, 2019 16:05 PM

Sheikh Hasina takes oath as PM for historic fourth term

A- A A+

Sheikh Hasina took oath as the Prime Minister for historic fourth time as well as consecutive third term and formed a new cabinet today.

She took oath as the prime minister for fourth term with 47-member council of ministers.

The new council of ministers — including 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers — took oath today at a state ceremony at
Bangabhaban Darbar Hall.

President M Abdul Hamid administered the oath of office and oath of secrecy to Sheikh Hasina and her new cabinet members. Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam conducted the programme.

After the swearing-in was over, Sheikh Hasina signed the oath of office and oath of secrecy.

The Awami League-led Grand Alliance achieved landslide victory in the 11th Jatiya Sangsad election on December 30, 2018.

Over 20 new faces have been inducted into the council of ministers.

Guests present at the jam-packed glittering Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban included PM’s family members including younger sister Sheikh Rehana, former President AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury, Chief Justice, Chief Election Commissioner, Judges of the Supreme Court, members of parliament, political leaders, chiefs of the three services, members of the diplomatic corps,
journalists, elites and high civil and military officials.

Attired in a light-sky colour saree, Sheikh Hasina was looking confident and lively at the Darbar Hall. Sheikh Hasina was given a standing ovation when she entered the Darbar Hall at 3:30 pm. Minutes later President Hamid entered the Darbar Hall.

The ceremony began with the recitation from the holy Quran.

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina, also the leader of the House, took oath at 3:40 pm pledging to preserve, protect and defend the national constitution and state sovereignty.

Later, the ministers and deputy ministers took oath separately.

Thousands of people from all walks of life thronged the Rajuk Avenue and Bangabandhu Avenue intersection to have a glimpse of the new Prime Minister when she was on her way back home from Bangabhaban.