Oikyafront leaders at Ganabhaban, dialogue underway

Kalerkantho Online   

1 November, 2018 18:32 PM

Oikyafront leaders at Ganabhaban, dialogue underway


A- A A+

The dialogue between the two sides- 21-member Oikyafront team and 23-member 14-party alliance-started at Ganabhaban around at 7pm.

The 21-member Oikyafront team, led by its chief and Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain, reached Ganabhaban in the capital to take part in the dialogue around 6:50pm.

A 23-member 14-party delegation led by Awami League President and also the Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, is now sitting in the much-sought dialogue with the newly formed political alliance.

The meeting between the two sides is being held, aiming to reach a consensus over holding the upcoming national poll in a free, fair and credible manner.

The 23-member 14-party delegation: Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, advisers Amir Hossain Amu and Tofail Ahmed, presidium members Begum Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Mohammad Nasim, Kazi Zafar Ullah, Sammayabadi Dal General Secretary Dilip Barua, Workers Party of Bangladesh President Rashed Khan Menon, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal President (JASOD) Hasanul Huq Inu and another faction leader of the party Mainuddin Khan Badol, Law Minister Advocate Anisul Huq, AL presidium members Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru, Dr. Md. Abdur Razzak and Ramesh Chandra Sen, Joint-Secretaries Mahbub-ul Alam Hanif, Dr. Dipu Moni, Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman, Office Secretary Dr. Abdus Sobhan Golap, Publicity and Publication Secretary Hasan Mahmud, Legal Affairs Secretary Advocate S. M Rezaul Karim.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar and Mirza Abbas are among BNP leaders in the talks while other coalition leaders are- Mahmudur Rahman Manna and SM Akram of Nagorik Oikya, Mostofa Mohsin Montu and Subrata Chowdhury of Gono Forum, Abdul Malek Ratan and Tania Rab of JSD-Rab, Sultan Md Monsur and ABM Mostofa Amin of Oikya Prokriya, and Gonoshashthaya Kendra Founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury.

On Tuesday (Oct 30), Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, and also the president of ruling Awami League, invited Jatiya Oikyafront to join the dialogue with her party followed by the dinner.  

Sources from the Prime Minister’s Office earlier said the prime minister sent a letter to Oikyafront chief Dr Kamal Hossain and invited its leaders to join the dialogue.

The letter has been sent to Dr Kamal Hossain’s Bailey Road residence in the capital on Tuesday morning.

Earlier, in a bid to begin talks ahead of the national polls AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader called Oikyafront leader Mostafa Mohsin Montu and requested names of the alliance delegates.

The National Oikyafront was launched to press for their seven-point demand on October 13. Oikyafront’s seven-point demand includes installation of a neutral interim government, dissolution of parliament, reconstitution the Election Commission, the release of all the political prisoners, deployment of army and cancellation of the move to use Electronic Voting Machines (EVMS) for holding the next polls in fair and credible manner.