Three nomination forms secured on behalf of Khaleda Zia

Kalerkantho Online   

12 November, 2018 11:53 AM

Three nomination forms secured on behalf of Khaleda Zia

File photo

A- A A+

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and BNP Standing Committee members-- Nazrul Islam Khan and Mirza Abbas-- have collected three nomination forms for BNP chief Khaleda Zia to contest in the upcoming general election.

Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir collected a nomination form for Feni-1 constituency while BNP Standing Committee member Nazrul Islam Khan purchased another form for Bogura-6 constituency.

BNP Standing Committee member Mirza Abbas, on the other hand, also bought the third one to vie for the Bogura-7 constituency on behalf of the BNP chief.

The party began selling the nomination papers around 10:45am from its Nayapaltan central office in the day as thousands of BNP leaders and activists gathered there with different slogans, calling for the release of party chief Khaleda Zia.

The BNP-led 20-Party Alliance yesterday decided to contest in the upcoming 11th general election when Jatiya Oikyafront leader Dr Kamal Hossain also announced that the opposition alliance would participate in the national polls.

Earlier, while talking with reporters at a press conference held at the party’s Nayapaltan political headquarters yesterday, BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi Ahmed said: “Nomination forms can be collected from the party’s Nayapaltan central office on November 12 and 13 between 10 am and 4pm.”

Rizvi Ahmed further said: “The aspirants will have to submit the nomination forms at the Nayapaltan office on November 13 and 14 between 10am and 4pm.”

On November 8, the chief Election Commissioner has announced the national election schedule for the country’s 11th parliamentary election.

According to the polls schedule, the national election was set to be held on December 23 this year.

The CEC in his nationwide televised speech also said: “The aspirants will have to submit their nomination papers by November 19 while the nomination papers will be scrutinized on November 22.”

The deadline to withdraw the nomination forms is November 29.