Comilla Victorians win by 25 runs

Kalerkantho Online   

6 December, 2017 21:46 PM

Comilla Victorians win by 25 runs

Mohammad Saifuddin celebrates one of his three wickets

A- A A+

Comilla Victorians have won by 25 runs in the 42nd BPL match against Sylhet Sixers.

Comilla set a 171-run target for Sylhet on Wednesday while Sylhet managed to score only 145 losing seven wickets in all 20 overs. 

It was a comprehensive end to the group stage by the table toppers.

Comilla Victorians stamp their authority with yet another clinical win. They never allowed Sylhet to gain the momentum. Having scored a decent total, they always were in with their noses ahead. 

Sylhet Sixers captain Nasir Hossain earlier chose to bowl against a Comilla Victorians side that had rested its captain Tamim Iqbal. 

Instead, Shoaib Malik took over as captain with allrounder Solomon Mire and left-arm seamer Mehedi Hasan Rana also being rested. Liton Das, Mohammad Saifuddin, and Hasan Ali were picked.

Sylhet made one change, dropping Abul Hasan in favour of Mohammad Sharif. This was the last league match of this season with Comilla through the playoffs and Sylhet missing out.

Sylhet Sixers: 1 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 2 Andre Fletcher, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Sabbir Rahman, 5 Nasir Hossain (capt), 6 Ross Whiteley, 7 Sohail Tanvir, 8 Mohammad Sharif, 9 Kamrul Islam Rabbi, 10 Sharifullah, 11 Nabil Samad

Comilla Victorians: 1 Imrul Kayes, 2 Liton Das (wk), 3 Jos Buttler, 4 Shoaib Malik, 5 Marlon Samuels, 6 Mohammad Saifuddin, 7 Raqibul Hasan, 8 Graeme Cremer, 9 Mahedi Hasan, 10 Hasan Ali, 11 Al-Amin Hossain