Bravo keeps CSK's hope alive

Kalerkantho Online   

8 April, 2018 00:29 AM

Bravo keeps CSK's hope alive


A- A A+

Chennai Super Kings has won the first match of  Indian Premier League, 2018 against Mumbai Indians by 1 wicket at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. 

CSK made 169 runs losing 9 wickets in 19.5 overs while chasing a 166-run target. Bravo smashed 68 off 30 to revive the chase while Jadhav polished off the chase with one ball to spare. Mumbai Indians made 165 runs losing 4 wickets in 20 overs. 

Earlier, CSK captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first against Mumbai Indians. 

"Our emotions are under control," MS Dhoni said of his team, after winning the toss on his return as Chennai Super Kings captain. Dhoni elected to bowl, as he had when these teams last faced each other - in the final of the 2015 edition. Both captains were looking to bowl first, but Rohit Sharma said he was happy batting first on an unusually grassy Wankhede pitch.

The defending champions didn't spring any surprises with their team selection barring the inclusion of Punjab legspinner Mayank Markande, who will make his IPL debut. The story was different with Super Kings, who left out two specialist openers in M Vijay and Sam Billings, picked medium-pacer Deepak Chahar over Shardul Thakur, and set up a team that offered nine legitimate bowling options.

Mumbai Indians: 1 Evin Lewis, 2 Ishan Kishan (wk), 3 Rohit Sharma (capt), 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Krunal Pandya, 8 Mitchell McClenaghan, 9 Mustafizur Rahman, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Mayank Markande

Chennai Super Kings: 1 Shane Watson, 2 Ambati Rayudu 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Kedar Jadhav, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Dwayne Bravo, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Imran Tahir, 10 Deepak Chahar, 11 Mark Wood