Update: 18 December, 2018 08:56 AM
AL, BNP to unveil election manifesto today

AL, BNP to unveil election manifesto today

The ruling party, Awami League (AL) and its archrival BNP will unveil their electoral manifesto today for the 11th national election slated to be held on December 30.

AL Deputy Office Secretary Barrister Biplob Barua said that AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is scheduled to unveil the manifesto in the city’s Sonargaon Hotel around 10am on Tuesday.

Barrister Biplob Barua also said that a sub-committee of the ruling AL, headed by its Presidium Member Dr Abdur Razzaque, finalized the election manifesto.

The electoral manifesto of BNP, on the other hand, would be announced at a press conference to be held at Lakeshore Hotel in capital’s Gulshan today, BNP media wing member Shayrul Kabir Khan confirmed the news yesterday.

The party insiders said that BNP is set to propose a comprehensive guideline in the manifesto to transform Bangladesh into a higher middle-income country by an innovative formula, “Vision 2030.”

In May last year, BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia outlined her party's Vision 2030, pledging to bring constitutional reforms to create a balance of power.

Jatiya Oikyafront, a newly formed political alliance, however, has published its 14-point electoral manifesto for the 11th general election on Monday (yesterday).

The coalition, led by Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain and comprising BNP, was floated in October and has now become a major opposition in the country’s politics.

The alliance announced the manifesto—focusing on issues including education, health care, the judiciary, freedom of speech, and public security.

BNP, Jatiya Oikya Prokriya and Jukta Front have recently launched a new opposition alliance, ‘Jatiya Oikyafront’, ahead of the 11th national election without Bikalpadhara Bangladesh President AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury.

Earlier, Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad has declared an 18-point electoral manifesto on ‘good governance and development of the nation.

সম্পাদক : ইমদাদুল হক মিলন,
নির্বাহী সম্পাদক : মোস্তফা কামাল,
ইস্ট ওয়েস্ট মিডিয়া গ্রুপ লিমিটেডের পক্ষে ময়নাল হোসেন চৌধুরী কর্তৃক প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বসুন্ধরা, বারিধারা থেকে প্রকাশিত এবং প্লট-সি/৫২, ব্লক-কে, বসুন্ধরা, খিলক্ষেত, বাড্ডা, ঢাকা-১২২৯ থেকে মুদ্রিত।
বার্তা ও সম্পাদকীয় বিভাগ : বসুন্ধরা আবাসিক এলাকা, প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বারিধারা, ঢাকা-১২২৯। পিএবিএক্স : ০২৮৪০২৩৭২-৭৫, ফ্যাক্স : ৮৪০২৩৬৮-৯, বিজ্ঞাপন ফোন : ৮১৫৮০১২, ৮৪০২০৪৮, বিজ্ঞাপন ফ্যাক্স : ৮১৫৮৮৬২, ৮৪০২০৪৭। E-mail : [email protected]