Update: 30 December, 2018 16:31 PM
Allegation of vote rigging: 47 aspirants boycott polls

Allegation of vote rigging: 47 aspirants boycott polls


A total of 47 opposition MP candidates have boycotted the ongoing 11th parliamentary election so far citing vote rigging and manipulation at different centers by the ruling party members.

The candidates came up with the boycott announcement at different districts across the country.

BNP-nominated candidates Fahim Chowdhury and Mahmudul Haque Rubel respectively from Sherpur -2 and 3 constituencies boycotted the polls at 12 noon.

They held a press conference in front of the office of District Commissioner in this regard, alleging vote manipulation by Awami League members.

BNP-backed aspirant for Khulna-5 constituency and also a Jamaat leader, Ameer Mia Golam Porwan boycotted the poll around 10:30 am while BNP-nominated candidate Sama Obaid from Faridpur-2 seat quit the race earlier in the day.

Bagerhat district unit Jamaat Nayeb-e-Ameer Mohammad Abdul Wadud from Bagerhat-3 and Jamaat Sura member Abdul Aleem from Bagerhat-4 quit the race around 12 noon bringing the same allegations.

BNP-backed candidates Ameer Ezaz Khan from Khulna-1, Rokibul Islam from Khulna-3 and Azizul Bari Helal from Khulna-4 boycotted the poll around 1 pm.

Besides, independent candidate Salma Islam from Dhaka-1 constituency boycotted the election bringing allegations that the ruling party members are occupying the voting centres.

Of the boycotted, 22 Jamaat candidates, who were contesting the polls under the ‘sheaf of paddy’ symbol, said they boycotted the election due to “unfair voting atmosphere” at polling stations.

Jatiya Oikyafront candidates who boycotted the polls are- Syed Abdullah Md Taher, Cumilla-11; Iqbal Hossein, Pabna-5; Md Abdul Alim, Bagerhat-4; Ameer Ejaz Khan, Khulna-1; Rakibul Islam, Khulna-3; Azizul Bari Helal, Khulna-4, Mia Golam Parwar, Khulna-5; Md Abul Kalam Azad, Khulna-6; Moniruzzaman Montu, Nilphmari-2, Md Azizul Islam, Nilphmari-3; Ali Newaz Mahmud Khaiyam, Rajbari-1; Andaleeve Rahman Partha, Dhaka-17; Abu hena, Rajshahi-4; Abdul Hakim, Thakurgaon-2; Mohammad Abdul Wadud Sheikh, Bagerhat-3, Md Abu Hanif, Dinajpur-1; Anwarul Islam, Dinajpur-6; Prof Golam Rabbani, Rangpur-5; Majedur Rahman Sharker, Gaibandha-1, Rafiqul Islam Khan, Sirajganj-4; Iqbal Hossein, Pabna-5; Prof Motiur Rahman, Jhenidah-3, Abu Sayed Mohammad Shahadat Hossain, Jashore-2; Abdul Khaleque, Shatkhira-2; Gazi Nazrul Islam, Shatkhira-4; Shamim Sayedee, Pirojpur-1; ANM Shamsul Islam, Chattogram-15, Shafiqur Rahman, Dhaka-15; Hamidur Rahman Azad, Cox's Bazar-2, Nurul Islam Bulbul, Chapainawabganj-3; Sabina Yasmin, Natore-2; Md Dauder Mahmud, Natore-3, Md Habibur Rahman, Pabna-4 while Jatiya Party’s Somnath Dey from Bagerhat-4 also boycotted the polls.

According to reports, others are- Romana Morshed Kanak Chapa, Sirajganj-1; Md Azharul Islam Mannan, Narayanganj-3; Md Mofiqul Hasan Tripti, Jashore-1, M Iqbal Hossain, Mymensingh-3, Mohammad Zakir Hossain, Mymensingh-5, Shams Uddin Ahmed, Mymensingh-6, Khurram Khan Chowdhury, Mymensingh-9; Fakhar Uddin Ahmed, Mymensingh-11; Afzal H Khan, Mymensingh-1; Syed Maumud Morshed, Mymensingh-10; AHM Khalequzzaman, Mymensingh-8.

সম্পাদক : ইমদাদুল হক মিলন,
নির্বাহী সম্পাদক : মোস্তফা কামাল,
ইস্ট ওয়েস্ট মিডিয়া গ্রুপ লিমিটেডের পক্ষে ময়নাল হোসেন চৌধুরী কর্তৃক প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বসুন্ধরা, বারিধারা থেকে প্রকাশিত এবং প্লট-সি/৫২, ব্লক-কে, বসুন্ধরা, খিলক্ষেত, বাড্ডা, ঢাকা-১২২৯ থেকে মুদ্রিত।
বার্তা ও সম্পাদকীয় বিভাগ : বসুন্ধরা আবাসিক এলাকা, প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বারিধারা, ঢাকা-১২২৯। পিএবিএক্স : ০২৮৪০২৩৭২-৭৫, ফ্যাক্স : ৮৪০২৩৬৮-৯, বিজ্ঞাপন ফোন : ৮১৫৮০১২, ৮৪০২০৪৮, বিজ্ঞাপন ফ্যাক্স : ৮১৫৮৮৬২, ৮৪০২০৪৭। E-mail : [email protected]