Update: 19 January, 2019 15:10 PM
AL’s victory rally: PM reaches Suhrawardy Udyan

AL’s victory rally: PM reaches Suhrawardy Udyan


Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina reached Suhrawardy Udyan to join a celebration programme, marking her party’s landslide victory in the recently held 11th parliamentary election.

She reached the venue around 3:00pm while the Awami League leaders and activists started gathering at Suhrawardy Udyan from around 11am on Saturday (today).

The election victory celebration rally has begun formally around 2.30pm at Suhrawardy Udyan and AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is set to address the rally as the chief guest.

In a media release, AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader urged the party leaders as well as activists of its associate bodies and all walks of life to make the grand rally a success.

Supporters of the party marched towards the venue from various parts of the capital with chanting party slogans.

Sheikh Hasina became prime minister for a fourth term winning 258 seats in the December 30’s 11th general election in the country while the Awami League formed its third consecutive government.

Traffic guidelines ahead of AL's poll victory celebrations

Earlier, the authorities of Dhaka Metropolitan Police issued a traffic guideline to ensure smooth faring of vehicles on Awami League’s election victory celebration rally.

The programme-bound people from Gabtoli via Mirpur Road-Science Lab-New Market will have to get off at Nilkhet and will move towards the venue by foot while all buses will be parked at the Mall Chattar of Dhaka University and by both sides of the Nilkhet to Palashi road.

Those who will come from Uttara via Airport Road- Mohakhali- Moghbazar-Kakrail Church-Rajmoni crossing-Nightingale-Paltan-Zero Point or via Khilkhet flyover-Badda-Gulshan-Rampura Road- Mouchak flyover-Malibagh-Shantinagar-Rajmoni Crossing-Nightingale to Paltan/Zero Point will have to get off at Paltan/Zero Point and move towards venue on foot via Doyel Chattar while the buses will be parked at Motijheel area.

Rally-bound people coming in from eastern regions via Jatrabari and southern regions via Postogola and under the Mayor Hanif flyover will have to get off at Gulistan and go to the venue on foot via Zero Point-Doyel Chattar. They will also park their buses in either Motijheel or Gulistan.

Rally attendees coming through the Mayor Hanif flyover will disembark at Chankharpul and move towards the Udyan on foot via Doyel Chattar. Their buses will be parked on the Dhaka University Gymnasium ground.

People coming from via Babubajar Bridge will get off at Golap Shah's shrine and go to the venue via High Court-Doyel Chattar while their buses will be parked in Gulistan.

Meanwhile, the road from Shahbagh to Matsya Bhaban will be off-limits to the general people and traffic will be regulated around Suhrawardy Udyan.

সম্পাদক : ইমদাদুল হক মিলন,
নির্বাহী সম্পাদক : মোস্তফা কামাল,
ইস্ট ওয়েস্ট মিডিয়া গ্রুপ লিমিটেডের পক্ষে ময়নাল হোসেন চৌধুরী কর্তৃক প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বসুন্ধরা, বারিধারা থেকে প্রকাশিত এবং প্লট-সি/৫২, ব্লক-কে, বসুন্ধরা, খিলক্ষেত, বাড্ডা, ঢাকা-১২২৯ থেকে মুদ্রিত।
বার্তা ও সম্পাদকীয় বিভাগ : বসুন্ধরা আবাসিক এলাকা, প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বারিধারা, ঢাকা-১২২৯। পিএবিএক্স : ০২৮৪০২৩৭২-৭৫, ফ্যাক্স : ৮৪০২৩৬৮-৯, বিজ্ঞাপন ফোন : ৮১৫৮০১২, ৮৪০২০৪৮, বিজ্ঞাপন ফ্যাক্স : ৮১৫৮৮৬২, ৮৪০২০৪৭। E-mail : [email protected]