Update: 7 July, 2019 16:30 PM
MPs leave for UK to play Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup

MPs leave for UK to play Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup

Bangladesh Parliamentarian Cricket Team is scheduled to participate in the first ever Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup (IPCWC) from 9-14 July in England. 

In parallel to ICC World Cup 2019, parliament members from eight cricket-playing nations-Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri-Lanka, Afghanistan, Australia, South Africa, and the host England will compete in the tournament, says a press note.

A team consisted of seventeen members of Bangladesh parliament led by Naimur Rahman Durjoy, the former captain of Bangladesh National Cricket Team, will reach London by today. 

The State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam MP himself is coordinating with the host parliament in collaboration with Bangladesh Cricket Board. 

Bangladesh team met the Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury at the last day of budget session before their departure for the tournament. 

A four members technical team under coach Dipu Roy Chowdhury has been preparing Bangladesh team and they will also accompany the team. 

The tournament will take place in different cricket venues in London dividing the eight teams into two groups. 

Bangladesh belongs to the Group-B with Pakistan, South Africa, and New Zealand. Group-A consists of India, England, Australia, and Sri Lanka. 

However, in four practice six-a-side matches, each team will face the team of other groups on 9 July before the beginning of group-stage matches on 10th July. 

Two teams will proceed from each group to the semi-finals and the final. In the group stage the match will be of 15 overs and the semi-final and final would be of 20 overs. 

 During the tournament, parliamentarian of those countries are invited to attend receptions to be hosted respectively by the Speaker of House of Commons John Barcow at his Parliament Residence on July 8, Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt at Durbar Court at the British Foreign Office on July 9 and UK Prime Minister Thersea May at the Rose Garden in 10 Downing Street on July 14. 

 It is expected that the tournament using the soft power of sport will help to build friendship among MPs of the participating nations which could be termed as “friendship in pitch”. 

Bangladesh team is looking forward to the main spirit of the tournament while they are very upbeat about their success by virtue of their an army of the young parliamentarians. 

সম্পাদক : ইমদাদুল হক মিলন,
নির্বাহী সম্পাদক : মোস্তফা কামাল,
ইস্ট ওয়েস্ট মিডিয়া গ্রুপ লিমিটেডের পক্ষে ময়নাল হোসেন চৌধুরী কর্তৃক প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বসুন্ধরা, বারিধারা থেকে প্রকাশিত এবং প্লট-সি/৫২, ব্লক-কে, বসুন্ধরা, খিলক্ষেত, বাড্ডা, ঢাকা-১২২৯ থেকে মুদ্রিত।
বার্তা ও সম্পাদকীয় বিভাগ : বসুন্ধরা আবাসিক এলাকা, প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বারিধারা, ঢাকা-১২২৯। পিএবিএক্স : ০২৮৪০২৩৭২-৭৫, ফ্যাক্স : ৮৪০২৩৬৮-৯, বিজ্ঞাপন ফোন : ৮১৫৮০১২, ৮৪০২০৪৮, বিজ্ঞাপন ফ্যাক্স : ৮১৫৮৮৬২, ৮৪০২০৪৭। E-mail : [email protected]