Update: 15 July, 2019 00:07 AM
England win the World Cup

England win the World Cup

Ecstasy for England and agony for New Zealand as the hosts have won the World Cup, completing a hat-trick of host nations winning the World's most coveted trophy on their home turf.

The win came for England on boundary count - after a tied match, and a tied super over. And something else predictable: Ben Stokes is Player of the Match. Stokes' innings was crazy enough, with the ball deflecting off the bat in the final over and running away to the fence.

The World Cup final encounter between England and New Zealand was tied and in the super over both the teams scored 15 runs. 

Fall of Wickets (NZ)
29-1 (Martin Guptill, 6.2), 103-2 (Kane Williamson, 22.4), 118-3 (Henry Nicholls, 26.5), 141-4 (Ross Taylor, 33.1), 173-5 (James Neesham, 38.6), 219-6 (Colin de Grandhomme, 46.5), 232-7 (Tom Latham, 48.3), 240-8 (Matt Henry, 49.3)

On the other hand, the Kiwis fought till the end and in the final ball of the super over as they are still carrying the scars of the previous World Cup final, is absolutely inconsolable. 

New Zealand's strength all tournament has been their bowling, and another fantastic reading of the pitch and the conditions kept them in the contest in a low-scoring but keenly contested final at Lord's on Sunday, 14 July.

Williamson wins Player of the Tournament. 


Both the teams scored 241 runs in 50 overs while the hosts lost all their wickets and New Zealand lost eight wickets. 

Fall of Wickets (ENG)
28-1 (Jason Roy, 5.4), 59-2 (Joe Root, 16.3), 71-3 (Jonny Bairstow, 19.3), 86-4 (Eoin Morgan, 23.1), 196-5 (Jos Buttler, 44.5), 203-6 (Chris Woakes, 46.1), 220-7 (Liam Plunkett, 48.3), 227-8 (Jofra Archer, 48.6), 240-9 (Adil Rashid, 49.5), 241-10 (Mark Wood, 50)

Earlier in the day, New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first in the match. 

England, who hosted the first-ever cricket world cup back in 1975, had to wait 44 years to lift their first trophy.

Every period of this game has been drenched in drama and moments of brilliance and strangeness. There has never been a more dramatic match in this history of the game. 

Playing XI

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Tom Latham(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.


সম্পাদক : ইমদাদুল হক মিলন,
নির্বাহী সম্পাদক : মোস্তফা কামাল,
ইস্ট ওয়েস্ট মিডিয়া গ্রুপ লিমিটেডের পক্ষে ময়নাল হোসেন চৌধুরী কর্তৃক প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বসুন্ধরা, বারিধারা থেকে প্রকাশিত এবং প্লট-সি/৫২, ব্লক-কে, বসুন্ধরা, খিলক্ষেত, বাড্ডা, ঢাকা-১২২৯ থেকে মুদ্রিত।
বার্তা ও সম্পাদকীয় বিভাগ : বসুন্ধরা আবাসিক এলাকা, প্লট-৩৭১/এ, ব্লক-ডি, বারিধারা, ঢাকা-১২২৯। পিএবিএক্স : ০২৮৪০২৩৭২-৭৫, ফ্যাক্স : ৮৪০২৩৬৮-৯, বিজ্ঞাপন ফোন : ৮১৫৮০১২, ৮৪০২০৪৮, বিজ্ঞাপন ফ্যাক্স : ৮১৫৮৮৬২, ৮৪০২০৪৭। E-mail : [email protected]